12 weeks in – My FINAL weight loss and WeightWatchers journey

Okay, so I am 12 weeks into my WeightWatchers journey and figured it was time that I started documenting this journey. Mainly for myself and also for the accountability factor. When I know there may very well be some person reading about my journey and since most people are judgmental-what better way than to hold myself accountable to anyone that has access to this blog.

First, let me jump right in and talk about why I took the step to join WW. It is honestly because I am just tired of being “overweight” and out of shape. It takes a lot to really admit to yourself and others that you are overweight and out of shape. And I started to admit it to myself about 2 years ago– like really admit it. You know, the say it out loud while looking in the mirror with tears in your eyes. Alright- so maybe you don’t know, but that’s what happened to me. I got out of the shower, started getting ready and really took a long hard look at myself in the mirror. Now, my family tend to think that I am extremely vain and conceited honestly though, I have not been a huge fan of the mirror for a while. Mirrors = reality to me. A reality that I don’t want to always accept.

I have spent the majority of my life looking like I was in phenomenal shape. It’s only been in the past 6 years that I have truly started to “look” like my reality — out of shape, a little “fat”, and frumpy. It doesn’t help that I prefer sweatpants and hoodies to nice clothes. I as slowly increasing my clothing size and made my way up to the double digits in pants size. I recognized my problem long before I reacted with a solution. Some people seem to just be nicer than others. I am all for being honest. But there is a fine line between honesty and tact and just plain rudeness and insults. And I just don’t think that everyone understands that line. Several people felt that t was their job to act as my personal mirror and tell me just how much weight I had gained. And even still….. no changes were made on my part.

And then that day came at work when I decided to weigh myself one morning. You know the drill… walk up to the scale, feel intimidated, take of your bracelets, earring, rings, shoes, name tag – but leave your glasses on because come on, seriously, how much of a difference can THOSE make… and then star at the scale a little longer. Wait, that’s not what everyone does? Hmmmmmmmmmm…………
But anyway, after I lost my staring war with the scale, I realized that I had been defeated long before that moment and stepped on.  And the number on the scale was one that I knew was NOT acceptable– 164 lbs!!!

I made the decision with my friend, Jen, to sign up for Weight Watchers on January 17th of this year!  I must say — I am so happy with my decision.  On January 17, 2016, my official weigh in weight was 162.8.  I am now 12 weeks in and have lost a total of 20.8 pounds.  I was down a little bit more, but at my first weight gain of 0.4lbs this week.

It has not been easy.  It hasn’t always been fun. It hasn’t always made me happy.  BUT- it has all been WORTH IT!  It has taught me so much about portion control.  Things that I should have already known, and I think I do, but something that I clearly needed help on.  It has caused me to have to buy new pants– I mean, I haven’t bought any yet, since I mainly live in sweats, but I am in desperate need of some new SMALLER jeans.  It has helped me with my self confidence… yup- some of my self confidence is based on my weight. Call me vain if you want, but it’s the god honest truth and I am not ashamed to admit it!

I still have about 20 more pounds to go until I reach what I consider to be my “healthy” weight.  And no, I won’t be too skinny, no I’m not crazy, and yes, I know what I am doing.  I figure I should get those answers out since everyone always says something to me when I talk about my goal weight.

I also need to get more focused on my exercise.  I was running and then spinning almost consistently.  But running as taken a back burner to everything else in my world and the times for spinning just haven’t been working for me.  I do dance twice  a week, but that is not nearly enough.  I plan to start back up with running very soon and am also hoping to get back into Yoga. No set plan or anything- just things I know need to be done.

All in all this experience is going much better than I had originally anticipated and for that I am grateful.  Most importantly, I am very proud of myself – I am known to be a quitter.  And while I have gotten a little more relaxed with my food tracking, I am FAR from quitting!

Maybe 12 more weeks from now, I will still be going strong and will be able to give another update.  And maybe even be brave enough to post a before and after pic 🙂

Leave a Reply

